American among three to share Nobel Prize in Physics for his work on quantum information science

stockholm – Three scientists jointly won the Nobel Prize in Physics this year for their work on quantum information science, which has important applications, for example, in the field of encryption.

Alain Aspect of France, John F. Clouser and Anton Zeilinger of Austria were cited by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for being “a pioneer in quantum informatics”.

“Quantum informatics is a vibrant and rapidly developing field,” said Nobel Committee member Eva Olsson. “This has broad and potential implications in areas such as secure information transfer, quantum computing and sensing technology.”

“Its origin can be traced back to quantum mechanics,” she said. “Its predictions have opened doors to other worlds, and it has also shaken the foundations of how we interpret measurements.”

While physicists often deal with problems that at first glance appear far from everyday concerns – tiny particles and the vast mysteries of space and time – their research provides the foundation for many practical applications of science.

Last year the prize was presented to three scientists – Soukuro Manebe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi – whose work has helped to explain and predict the complex forces of nature, expanding our understanding of climate change.

A week of Nobel Prize announcements begins on Monday Swedish scientist Svante Pabo receiving award in medicine Monday to uncover the secrets of Neanderthal DNA that provided important insights into our immune system.

They continue chemistry on Wednesday and literature on Thursday. The 2022 Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday and the Economics Prize will be announced on October 10.

The prizes carry a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kronor (approximately $900,000) and will be awarded on 10 December. The money comes from a will left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

Nobel Prize in Physics
Hans Allegren, Eva Olsson and Thors Hans Hansson, General Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, members of the Nobel Committee for Physics announce the winners of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics: Alain Aspect, John F. Klauser and Anton Zeilinger, during a 4 News conference at The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm, Sweden, October 2022.

TT News Agency / Jonas Ekstromervia via Reuters

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button