Congressional Hispanic Caucus Asks Library of Congress to Include More Latino Songs in the National Recording Registry

Members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus are pushing the Library of Congress to increase the number of songs written and sung by Latinos in its national registry. And he has 33 nominations to make.

Each year, the National Recording Preservation Board selects 25 recordings to add to the Library of Congress’s National Recording Registry. In a Monday letter to the Library of Congress, the Congressional Hispanic Caucus noted that of the roughly 600 works currently in the registry, only 23 — 3.8% — were entered by Latino composers. CHC President Raul Ruiz, CHC Vice President Adriano Espilet and Representative Joaquín Castro signed the letter and suggested 33 songs and albums for consideration.

Members of the Hispanic Caucus wrote, “The very existence of the National Recording Registry speaks to the importance of music and broadcasting in American culture and society.” “Music brings people of all different backgrounds together, and Latino music has had an incredible impact on every genre across the American musical spectrum, from jazz, rhythm and blues, to country, pop and hip-hop. Nevertheless, the contribution of Latinos to music has been insufficiently recognized. As an art form, the diversity of the Latin sound can be heard in every measure and resonates with every beat.

The members noted that the songs were “chosen with feedback from the public,” and “reflect the diversity of Latino identity, history, and geography.”

Her nominations include “Hips Don’t Lie” by Shakira, “El Rey” by Vicente Fernandez, “Rinconcito en el Cielo” by Ramon Ayala, and “I Know You Want Me” by Pitbull.

Here are the songs and albums he has been nominated for:

  • Wasted Days and Wasted Nights (song) by Freddy Fender (1974)
  • Flashdance… What a Feeling (song) by Irene Cara (1983)
  • Corridos Prohibidos (album) by Los Tigres del Norte (2009)
  • Eternal Love (song) by Juan Gabriel (1990)
  • Hips Don’t Lie (song) by Shakira (2005)
  • El Rey (song) by Vicente Fernandez (1972)
  • Romance (album) by Luis Miguel (1991)
  • The Power of the Moon (album) by Lumbre del Sol (1999)
  • The Candy Man (song) by Sammy Davis Jr. (1972)
  • Black Dove (song) by Chawla Vargas (1961)
  • El Cantante (song) by Hector Levo (1978)
  • Full Moon (song) by Aleida Reyna & Avante (1994)
  • Where will the children play? (album) by Mana (1992)
  • Suavemente (song) by Elvis Crespo (1999)
  • Genie in a Bottle (song) by Christina Aguilera (1999)
  • I Know You Want Me (Calle Ocho) (song) by Pitbull (2009)
  • Lost in Emotion (song) by Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam (Lisa Velez) (1987)
  • Fuiste Tu (song) by Ricardo Arjona featuring Gabi Moreno (2011)
  • Black Sunday (album) by Cypress Hill (1993)
  • by Jennifer Lopez Low (album) (2001)
  • Gasoline (song) by Daddy Yankee (2004)
  • Sure Thing (song) by Miguel (2010)
  • (Hey Baby) Que Paso (song) by Texas Tornadoes (1990)
  • It Must Be Him (song) by Vicki Carr (1967)
  • Merry Christmas (song) by José Feliciano (1970)
  • They Say I Am (album) by La India (1994)
  • Little Corner in Heaven (song) by Ramon Ayala (1985)
  • Lean Back (song) by Terror Squad, Fat Joe & Remy Ma (2004)
  • Rage Against the Machine (1992) by Rage Against the Machine (album)
  • All I Need to Know (song) by Marc Anthony (1999)
  • Hoy Ya Me Voy (Song) by Kani Garcia (2007)
  • In the Heights (Original Broadway Cast Recording) (album) (2008)
  • Cost of Life (song) by Juan Luis Guerra (1992)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button